Board of Directors

The Suzanne Ledin Memorial Foundation currently has 8 directors. Board of Directors meetings are held twice yearly in conjunction with the AABB annual meeting in October and the CBBS annual meeting in April-May. Directors and Officers are elected for a yearly term. No Officers or Directors receive any compensation or reimbursements from the Foundation.

Michael Breard MS, MT(ASCP)SBB, CQA(ASQ) has many years of experience in blood banking including transfusion service, donor center, commercial manufacturing, project management and consulting. He is an active member of the AABB and the Project Management Institute, and a senior member of the American Society for Quality. Michael received his BS in Medical Technology from the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill,his Medical Technology Training at Duke University and his MS in Medical Technology from California State University. He participates as director and/or speaker in international, national, state, regional and local conferences as well as serving on and chairing various committees.  
Nancy Heddle MSc, F.C.S.M.L.S. (D) is a Professor in the Department of Medicine at McMaster University and the Director of the McMaster Transfusion Research Program. She is also an Associate Member in the Department of Pathology and in Clinical Epidemiology and Biostatistics and is an Adjunct Scientist with Canadian Blood Services. She works collaboratively with clinicians and research faculty to address a wide variety of transfusion questions using quantitative, qualitative and mixed method techniques. She has published over 150 scientific papers, given numerous presentations nationally and internationally. She teaches and supervises residents in Hematology and Pathology and Fellows in Transfusion Medicine and Masters level students in Health Sciences. She has also served as a faculty member for the ASH Clinical Research Training Institute for the past 4 years. She has received over 15 national and international awards including the International Woman in Transfusion Award from the International Society of Blood Transfusion, the Emil von Behring Award given by the German Society of Blood Transfusion and most recently was the 2015 recipient of the Suzanne Ledin Lectureship.

Sue Johnson MSTM, MT(ASCP)SBB is Manager of Immunohematology Services at BloodCenter of Wisconsin, a non-profit organization widely acclaimed as one of the top transfusion medicine organizations in the world and a leader in diagnostic testing of blood, blood research and blood collection. Sue also serves as Director of BloodCenter of Wisconsin’s Specialist in Blood Banking (SBB) Program. She has taken an active role in the education of Clinical Laboratory Science students for over 20 years. She has been with BloodCenter of Wisconsin since 1983.

Sue is a member of the Invitational Conference of Investigative Immunohematologists (ICH). She is a past president of both the Wisconsin Association of Blood Banks and the Milwaukee Area Blood Banker’s Association.

She has been a member of the American Association of Blood Banks (AABB) for 25 years. She is Chair of the organization’s Membership Committee, sits on the AABB Press Editorial Board and acts as an Assessor for the Inspection and Accreditation Program. She led the AABB’s Scientific Section Coordinating Special Projects Workgroup in developing the Suzanne Ledin Travel Awards essay competition for SBB students.

George Ledin, JD is Professor of Computer Science at the California State University, Sonoma. He began his university career by doing research on portions of the Apollo Project. He met Suzanne at the University of San Francisco, where she was completing her undergraduate education and working on laboratory experiments under his supervision, married her in 1968, and supported her dedication to public health, laboratory technology, and blood banking throughout her life.  

Katya Ledin, PhD MPH, HCLD(ABB) is currently Director of the Napa-Solano-Yolo-Marin County Public Health Laboratory, which performs clinical, environmental and animal testing for a four-county service area with a population of 1.1 million residents. Katya is also the Northern Representative at Large for the California Association of Public Health Laboratory Directors (CAPHLD) and co-chair of the CAPHLD Training Committee, which coordinates the state-wide Public Health Microbiology Training Program. She has worked in public health research and disease control since 1994, specializing in vector-borne and zoonotic diseases. Katya was inspired to pursue her career at an early age by Suzanne Ledin’s lifelong enthusiasm for applying scientific and medical knowledge to improve public health.

Holli Mason, MD is is currently the Associate Medical Director of Transfusion Medicine, Medical Director of Core and Allied Laboratory and Laboratory Support Services at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center. She is also Clinical Professor of Pathology at the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA and at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center, and chair of the Southern California ARC Medical Advisory Committee. Dr. Mason was recently President of the California Blood Bank Society and past committee chair of the CBBS Scientific Program Committee, and a member of the Board of Directors of the American Red Cross, Southern California Region from 2002-08. She has given numerous talks on Transfusion Medicine to the blood banking community as well as to other medical specialists who utilize blood.

Paul Ness, MD is director of the Transfusion Medicine Division at The Johns Hopkins Hospital and professor of Pathology, Medicine, and Oncology at The Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, Maryland. Dr. Ness was the CEO and medical director of the Greater Chesapeake and Potomac Region of the American Red Cross Blood Services from 1983-1999. He has been a member of the AABB Board of Directors for many years and became President in 1999. He served on the editorial boards of Transfusion and AABB Press and became editor of Transfusion in July, 2003. He has been a member of the American Society of Clinical Pathologists Board of Registry Blood Bank examination committee and the FDA Blood Products Advisory Committee. Dr. Ness has written many articles for medical journals and is a co-editor of two comprehensive texts in transfusion medicine.  
W. Tait Stevens, MD, is Chief of Transfusion Medicine and Histocompatibility Sections of the Clinical Laboratory at Loma Linda University Medical Center, and Program Director of the Pathology Residency Program at Loma Linda University Medical Center. He is board certified in Clinical Informatics, and was the chair of both the AABB Information Systems committee and of the CBBS Website/e-Network Forum Committee. He received the AABB Baxter Transfusion Medicine Fellowship Award in 2005 and the California Blood Bank Society (CBBS) Upton-Hemphill Award in 2012.

For more information about the Foundation, please contact Katya Ledin, President:


PO Box 31424
San Francisco, CA

Past Board Members

back to About us

Home About Non Profit News Programs Suzanne Contact